Winter Storm Boreas

25 Nov

The big winter storm front blew through here two days ago and gave us temps in the 30’s for highs and near 20 for lows. That is a substantial cool down for us in this part of the country. Then this morning the weatherman surprised us with a forecast of freezing precipitation, including freezing rain. Not good! I had to take some packages to the UPS store for shipping so I decided as long as I was out I would go to the grocery store and watch the panicked horde hit the shelves. I like to watch the panic for entertainment value, I always just chuckle and shake my head and wonder, what would these people do if there really was some type of emergency? How can you not keep the basic supplies needed to withstand a few days of isolation due to a short-term weather event such as an ice storm? It’s not like it has never happened before, the potential is there for us every year. Every few years we actually get a storm that knocks out the power for a few days, and I am always amazed at the people who are totally unprepared. After all, usually the weatherman predicts the storm for several days before it gets here and still people get caught unaware, “I really didn’t think it would be this bad.” Some people just never learn.

moto_0807

moto_0811

As I write this we have had just a light coating of sleet, hopefully we won’t get much more. Anyway I looked at this as a test run for my preps. I came home and checked my fuel supply. Gasoline, Diesel, Kerosene, Lantern fuel, all OK.

Flashlights, batteries, candles, matches, radios, all OK. I even brought up another FEL bucket full of firewood and stacked it on the back porch just in case. Again, I am amazed at how much wood we have burned in just the few evenings we have enjoyed using our fireplace. If I had to burn wood everyday, then wood cutting would become a serious chore on the homestead. Thank Heaven for central heat!

moto_0806

And just a quick safety note for you. If you use a shop vac to clean out the ashes in your fireplace, make absolutely certain all the embers are out. That’s all I have to say about that! Keep prepping everyone! And keep warm.Confused smile

Leave a Reply

