Firewood

18 Nov

moto_0787

I went back to my former neighbor’s house and picked up 2 more FEL buckets full of firewood. This wood was large enough in diameter I had to split it to be able to use it. And when I say I split it, I am not talking about some tractor attachment, hydraulically driven splitter. No, I am talking OLD SCHOOL! I used a wood maul and axe. It took me an hour to split a bucket full, and that might last 12 hours of burning in the fireplace. So I figure I would need 2 buckets to last a full 24 hours, and that would take 2 hours to split. And I have to say, if I had to depend entirely on a fireplace for heat, this house would stay a lot cooler than it does now! That 2 hours is only for splitting, that doesn’t include cutting, hauling and stacking. I am going back to the woodpile of scrub trees I have created on the back of the homestead and go through the pile and cut out anything 2 inches in diameter and larger for burning. That will be a lot easier than splitting logs and the small pieces will burn just fine. If I had to heat solely with wood, I would be spending a lot of time cutting wood. I guess that is why in the old days people had so many children. Cheap slave labor! Sure it was more mouths to feed, but more hands to do the many tasks necessary for survival on a homestead. I sure am glad all I have to do for heat is bump up that thermostat! Keep prepping everyone!

2 Responses to “Firewood”

  1. Pioneer Preppy November 18, 2013 at 11:01 pm #

    I don’t split by hand at all anymore. I went through the last two Winters with out turning my gas furnace on at all (except to check it). As soon as deer season passes cutting wood will be about all I will do now until the storms start hitting. One of the first pieces of equipment I bought was a log splitter. I am thinking about getting one of those electric or hydraulic foot pump ones as well for a back up.

    • doublebhomestead November 18, 2013 at 11:04 pm #

      If I decide to do a lot of wood burning I think I will buy one of the electric splitters, it should handle anything I can cut with an 18 inch chainsaw.

Leave a Reply

