Hard Freeze

14 Nov

I haven’t posted any lately, both of our Dads have been in the hospital. Between shuttling back and forth between two hospitals, I haven’t had much time for blogging. Both our Dads seem to be stable now so maybe I will have time to catch my breath. We had our first hard freeze of the season this week.

moto_0762

My tomatoes are finished now, but that is not the worst part.

moto_0760

Any of the cotton that is unopened is also finished. Most of the fields are OK, but a few of them are going to be reduced in yield by 50%. These bolls will just turn black and rot. I guess it could have been worse, if the freeze had occurred last week we would have many more fields ruined.

moto_0780

 

Our cat Frank is glad we are back home and things are returning to normal. He really looks comfortable sprawled out like that doesn’t he? Keep prepping everyone!

2 Responses to “Hard Freeze”

  1. Pioneer Preppy November 15, 2013 at 12:02 pm #

    I never knew Cotton could be ruined by frost. I learn something new from your postings almost everytime.

    Sorry to hear about the Illness. I pray they will get well and out of the hospitals quickly.

    • doublebhomestead November 15, 2013 at 11:17 pm #

      Thanks PP. yeah those unopened bolls are as soft and squishy as a rotten tomato.

Leave a Reply

