Happy Halloween!

31 Oct

111imagescak5nmml_thumb

 

We have received light rain all day so I was not able to do any outside work. I planned on working at my desk and catching up on paperwork today, but I discovered a station on TV having a Christopher Lee movie marathon with horror movies from the 1950’s and 1960’s so I didn’t get much paper work done!

Count-Dracula-Christopher-Lee

I don’t expect to have many Trick-Or-Treaters here at our new home, but you can’t say the same thing about our former home.We lived there 14 years, and we were warned ahead of time about the huge mobs coming on Halloween. The first year we gave out 400 small candy bags with 4 pieces of penny candy in each one. (are you old enough to remember penny candy?) The next year we gave out 500, the next year 600, and the last couple of years we gave out 700 bags and still ran out. As you might imagine, most of these people drive here from other parts of town, even other towns. We would just go inside and turn off the lights after we ran out. It was fun at first, but it became too much of a hassle. We would dress up in our costumes and have the older children we knew come over and help us give out candy to the Trick-Or-Treaters. Now there are so many teenagers (I don’t mind if they are polite) and adults who are rude and surly. Many times the adult would herd the children up to the door and then hold out two more bags and say I got two more at home, they sick, I need some for them. Not, may I have some for them, but I need some for them. So we just got tired of putting up with the hassle. But hopefully it will be a better experience for you at your house. I just want to remind everyone to drive carefully. There will be lots of little ones out on the street this evening, running around all hyped up on sugar and adrenalin, so be careful, we don’t want any accidents. I will leave you with a little tune this evening, it’s a classic!

Leave a Reply

