Ammo Update

27 Oct

moto_0742

Some stores in my area finally have some bulk ammo for sale. I picked up these two boxes at Wal-Mart, and I picked up some 9MM from Gander Mountain last week. The ammo from Wal-Mart was priced the same as it was prior to Sandy Hook, but the Gander Mountain ammo was about 20% higher. I am glad to finally see the supply increasing a bit, but there is still not any 22LR to speak of, and what little there is on the shelf is selling for 20 cents a round. No thanks, I’ll pass.  I haven’t shot any since last winter. I had a supply laid by, but I wasn’t sure when or even if I would be able to replace it, so I have just been holding what I had. Now I feel comfortable enough to put one box back for later and shoot the other box to keep in practice.

moto_0752

It feels good to have ole’ Bessie bucking in my hand again! How is the ammo supply in your area?

2 Responses to “Ammo Update”

  1. K October 28, 2013 at 7:46 am #

    22LR is still hard to find, but most other calibers were available. The prices seem to have slowly crept down over the last few months, and a few good finds were available. I was able to pick up 150 rounds ( 3 boxes of 50) of 9mm for .2798 cents per round.
    The third store is a local one, and I didn’t take any pictures inside of it. The ammo shelves were full and most boxes had a two dollar premium from the old prices. This store even had a half barrel that contained 12,500 rounds of 5.56 for $5,999.90 (.4799/round).

    I’ll be restocking our ammo supplies this time so that we can continue to go to the range on a regular basis doing the next shortage.

    Our new policy is buy 3 boxes, shoot one, and store two until we reach the desired level of ammo.

    • doublebhomestead October 30, 2013 at 9:47 am #

      It’s good to be able to go out and practice again isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

