Garden Update

24 Oct

moto_0749

Check out this volunteer mustard plant growing by the stepping stone going into my shop. This thing is at least 24 inches across, way too big and tough to eat. I am just letting it grow to see how big it will get.

moto_0744

The greens I planted are ready for picking now.

moto_0718

We still are picking some cantaloupes for Sweet Thing, I don’t like the nasty things!

moto_0689

The heirloom tomatoes are still making, again just for Sweet Thing, I don’t eat them either. The purple hull peas put on a lot of pods and I am letting them dry to save the seeds for next year as an experiment to see if they will produce. This might be the last gasp for the garden, the weather forecast is for freezing temperatures tomorrow night. How is your garden doing?

4 Responses to “Garden Update”

  1. Pioneer Preppy October 24, 2013 at 11:08 pm #

    Still pumping out tomatoes, peppers and eggplant. My tobacco never did bloom though. Getting into a hard freeze tonight so after tonight I am sure it’s done for.

    • doublebhomestead October 25, 2013 at 7:08 am #

      I awoke to 31 degrees today, I’ll go out and check the damage later.

  2. russell1200 October 26, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

    Mustard plants get that large pretty quickly in Central NC. Seems like we have had some success in breaking down the leaves in the cooking process.

    • doublebhomestead October 26, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

      Yeah, I could eat them after they get large if you strip out the stem, but I have plenty of small greens so I can pick them, wash them and throw them in the pot.

Leave a Reply

