Prize Winner and New Tools

19 Oct

I was watching the news on TV and the doorbell rang, which is a rare occurrence here at the homestead. I answered the door and it was the UPS truck. Humm, what could this be I am not expecting anything this heavy.

moto_0743

I had gone to a website from a major chemical company a few weeks ago and watched an educational video and answered a few questions on a quiz to enter for a chance to win a prize. And I won! A new Skil brand portable drill. Yeah, that will go along with some of my other new tools.

moto_0725

I stopped at an intersection on a gravel road and something shiny caught my eye. It was this good as new pair of NAPA brand slip joint pliers. Free stuff!

moto_0732

Sweet Thing wanted to go to a flea market last weekend and I found a good deal on these old tools. I bought a bracing bit drill for $5, an old style hacksaw for $3, and an old coping saw for $1. I like having old tools not Made In China! How has your luck been?

3 Responses to “Prize Winner and New Tools”

  1. Pioneer Preppy October 19, 2013 at 10:09 pm #

    Lousy. I never win anything and I been searching for an old hand drill for like years.

    You Suck.

    • doublebhomestead October 19, 2013 at 10:23 pm #

      Ah, come on, surely they have flea markets around your area. I saw several at this market. I had one in my hand priced $12, then I saw one for $10, then one for $8, and then I found this one for $5. I just kept picking up the cheaper ones until I ended up with what I wanted. I’m really looking for more drawing knives, those are hard to find for less than $20.

  2. Pioneer Preppy October 20, 2013 at 1:04 am #

    Ya know I don’t know of one flea market around here. I maybe need to start asking around.

Leave a Reply

