New Fence Building

18 Oct

I have always intended to fence in most of the open space on our homestead and when our neighbors to the side of us had to move after the bank repossessed their home, I got a renewed sense of urgency to do part of the project. After all, I don’t have any idea who might become my new neighbors. They might be perfectly nice or they might be a bunch of unsavory low-lifes. So I got my Nephew and Sweet Thing out last weekend and started putting up fencing.

moto_0729

I installed wooden H posts on the corners and spaced T-posts every 8 feet, then I installed goat and sheep fencing with 2X4 inch grids.

moto_0728

I wanted to stretch the fencing nice and tight so I installed a dummy post 8 feet from the corner.

moto_0727

Then I used two come-alongs to attach to the homemade fence stretcher. I cranked the fence as tight as I dared, until it sounded like a banjo string when I plucked it. I looked at a fence stretcher at Tractor Supply and they wanted $70 for one, so I made mine from a 2X4 and 4 bolts at a cost of $5, no need spending that extra money if I don’t have to! My other neighbor came out to look at the fence and he liked it so well he asked me to put up 170 feet of fence for him, and he said he would half the cost of the common fence between us. After we stood there and did some figuring and dickering he offered me an amount that would pay for all of the supplies, pay my Nephew, and still leave me with $300 left over. SCORE! That worked out better than I expected, now if I can get the neighbor on my other side to kick in with his share everything will be coming up roses!

2 Responses to “New Fence Building”

  1. Pioneer Preppy October 19, 2013 at 2:04 am #

    Fencing is so expensive anymore and you’re right as easy as it is to make a stretcher I have always wondered why they were so expensive. I have never known anyone to actually buy a brand new one and most people use homemade ones.

    • doublebhomestead October 19, 2013 at 9:28 am #

      I have about $1.50 per foot in material for the fence, not counting my labor ( which is not worth much ) . It looks like anyone who is capable enough to do their own fencing could make their own stretcher.

Leave a Reply

