Swamp Rat!

13 Oct

nutria

Our Niece called yesterday and said there was some huge, horrible creature laying dead in her yard. She said the dogs must have dragged it up from the woods. She described it to me over the phone and I was pretty sure it was a Nutria and when I saw the picture I was sure of it.

nutria 2

Back in South Arkansas where I grew up, we called this critter a Swamp Rat. They are a large, herbivorous, semi-aquatic rodent native to South America. They live along the banks of bodies of water and feed on plants and roots and burrow into the soil and construct dens similar to Beavers. Although their fur is used in some parts of the world they are not much sought after in this part of the country. I’m glad I don’t have a bunch of these around my place, how about you?

9 Responses to “Swamp Rat!”

  1. Stephen October 13, 2013 at 10:26 pm #

    Ummmm, soup. Road kill, it’s what’s for dinner.

  2. Pioneer Preppy October 13, 2013 at 10:29 pm #

    UHmmm. Where does your niece live? Are those things getting into Missouri now?

    • doublebhomestead October 14, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

      Yeah, I’ve seen them in the Bootheel, especially along the Mississippi River.

  3. Lorilee October 13, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

    They are in South Texas. My Dad talked about them in the cooling ponds where he worked.
    Lorilee

    • doublebhomestead October 14, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

      I would think the farther south you go the more plentiful they would be since they are native to South America.

  4. 메간 Megan October 14, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

    Might be a muskrat. Not sure if they are the same as Nutria, but maybe. I think they’re kind of cute 🙂

    • doublebhomestead October 14, 2013 at 9:16 pm #

      No, they are indeed similar in many ways, but the Nutria is twice the size of the muskrat.

      • 메간 Megan October 15, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

        Yeah, I saw them on the travel channel once and they’re much bigger. You can’t tell the size of that one from the pic though 🙂

Leave a Reply

