Video In Print

5 Oct

I ran across something new today called Video In Print. I consider myself to be a fairly well read, up to date kind of individual, but this technology took me by surprise. I guess the main reason I haven’t encountered this before is because since I received an I-pad for Christmas three years ago, I have allowed most of my magazine subscriptions to expire. Almost anything I might be interested in reading is available on-line for free! I can sit in my recliner and watch TV with one eye and read my I-pad with the other eye. (I’m talented that way!) About the only magazine I still subscribe to is The Backwoodsman.

190815_bwm_cover

This magazine has lots of articles about old-time survival skills, living off grid, making do with less, reusing and repurposing things and just general frugal living. Other than that, most of my magazines are work related, dealing with agriculture. One of the magazines had an insert from John Deere promoting their new equipment.

americhip_video

This picture is of an ad for a car but the one from John Deere looked exactly the same. Once you open the folder, there is a 2 inch by 3 inch video screen and there are buttons on the side where you can choose what videos you want to watch. There is even sound to go with the video! The video quality is good and the sound quality is good, I was just blown away! Wow, this is great! This must be the newest thing going, I can’t believe I haven’t heard about this before now. I did some research and this has been available since 2009. Huh, I guess I am not as up to date as I thought. I don’t have any idea how much each unit of advertising cost, but there is a lot of potential in this method. It just goes to show how fast technology is progressing. Someday you will have electronic chips implanted in your body for various purposes, you won’t need a cellphone or money or credit cards, your chip will take care of all of that. ( can you say “Mark Of The Beast Anyone?”) Anyway I just thought I would pass this along and wondered if everyone else had seen this new form of advertising already or are you as behind the times as me?

5 Responses to “Video In Print”

  1. Pioneer Preppy October 5, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

    Never seen it myself. How thick was the page that contained the device?

    • doublebhomestead October 5, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

      The whole thing is between 1/4 and 3/8 of an inch thick. I found some information that said these mailings are really just now starting to go out. I saw a video on YouTube that said you can plug this in to a computer via USB and put your own video on the unit. Too cool!

  2. divaofdelicious October 6, 2013 at 10:10 am #

    I got a mailing from American Express a long time ago that was similar. Only sound though…like those birthday cards that have a little info disc inside. Well, I took the thing apart (because I don’t need and Amex card and wouldn’t support such wasteful spending if I did). It gave choices of buttons to press like your video card did and well, among the simple circuitry I gleaned a free battery for a flashlight that had gone dim. I hope I get a video one..would love to take it apart and make something new out of it.

    • doublebhomestead October 6, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

      I am going to take this apart and see what makes it tick. I hope I can put my own video on it then I can record a Birthday or holiday greeting and send it to someone special!

  3. Nicole May 16, 2014 at 2:03 pm #

    The company who made the insert is Americhip
    Here is their website… http://www.americhip.com

Leave a Reply

