This Means War!

14 Sep

And I don’t mean the limited pin-prick war our President wants to wage in Syria, but all out, apocalyptic end of the world survival of the species kind of war. And why am I so ready for war? If you remember, I planted about 50 stalks of Sweet Corn the first of July and despite the late planting date, the high temps, Southern Rust, and corn Ear Worms I was going to have a good harvest. I was watching the silks turn brown on the ears as they filled out and I decided I needed two more days until harvest. When I went down to the garden to harvest my bounty, this is what I saw,

moto_0683

All of the stalks had been broken over!

moto_0682

moto_0684

The ears had been pulled from the stalks and the shucks had been peeled down and the kernels were gone. What in the world could it have been? Was it some malicious neighborhood vandals? No it was filthy, sneaky Raccoons!

raccoon1

Yeah I know you did it, but now it is on! No holds barred buddy, it’s me and you, it’s go time! I’m using traps and guns and dogs and whatever else it takes! Next year I am going to fence in my corn and use a solar-powered electric fence to keep the varmints out. Anyone else have problems with coons?

moto_0687

Out of 50 stalks this is my total harvest. Oh well, at least I got one good meal out of it. Keep prepping everyone.

8 Responses to “This Means War!”

  1. Cathy September 15, 2013 at 1:41 am #

    I am right there with you! Threatened to sit outside with my pistol today because one keeps tearing down my bird feeders. PLUS it chewed up the wiring harness on the Ram truck midweek. We have sprayed stinky stuff and have two traps set. Supposed to relocate but still may have a little target practice. Coon supper sounds good whether we eat it or not!

    • doublebhomestead September 15, 2013 at 9:46 am #

      If you trap them I hope you don’t relocate them in my direction! Take them the other way!

  2. Pioneer Preppy September 15, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

    I hafta say the stray dog that made himself at home keeps the coons out of my garden. I wish he paid more attention to the rabbits though. I never see a coon or a possum closer than the barn now days.

    • doublebhomestead September 15, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

      If I left my dogs out to run loose, my garden would be a shambles. Jethro likes to flop down right in the middle of any big mound of plants that he finds!

  3. michigan doug September 15, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

    had a problem with them last year.got 29 of them (no i didn’t relocate them). haven’t seen any this year. yes, that says 29.

    • doublebhomestead September 15, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

      You da man! Sounds like the survivors must have spread the word, “watch out for Doug!”

  4. Jimmy Cracked-Corn September 17, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

    The exact same thing happened to me this year. I still need to trap those bandits.

    • doublebhomestead September 17, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

      I hate that it happened to you too. Traps, dogs, guns, bombs, whatever it takes! All is fair in love and coon war!

Leave a Reply

