Speedy Turtle

8 Sep

moto_0525

This is a Painted Turtle I encountered earlier this year and I had a unique experience. This turtle was walking across a huge field, traveling from one dried up water hole towards a permanent pond. He had already traveled nearly a quarter of a mile and he had another quarter of a mile before he reached the water. I thought OK little guy, I will help you out and give you a ride. I stopped and walked towards him and he turned and sprinted underneath my ATV. Man, that turtle can really move! I pushed the ATV forward about 10 feet and the turtle ran back underneath it. I walked around to the side and he moved over to the other side out of reach. I went to that side and he ran to the other side. This went on for nearly 5 minutes, he would go to one side then back to the other. He would even run out from underneath the ATV and circle back around to the other side! I have never seen a turtle exhibit that much intelligence or speed, they usually just pull back into their shell when you get them cornered. I thought to myself OK turtle, I’m just trying to help you out and here you are making me run around in this field like some kind of nut. But I wouldn’t give up, I know I am smarter than a turtle. I started my ATV and when he was safely in the middle away from the tires I rode up 50 feet before I stopped and started back to him. He was already headed in the other direction and I had to run to catch him. I held him in my hand as I carried him to the pond. I sat him on the bank of the pond and he sprinted over and dove off into the water like Mark Spitz! (that might be like Michael Phelps to you youngsters) I guess I should have brought him home for a pet, I might have trained him and we could have toured as Swamp Dog and The World’s Smartest Turtle! Who knows, We might have had our own TV show like Duck Dynasty!

4 Responses to “Speedy Turtle”

  1. pioneer Preppy September 8, 2013 at 9:32 pm #

    Funny never heard of a turtle attempting to evade capture before.

    • doublebhomestead September 8, 2013 at 10:01 pm #

      Neither have I, usually they just pull into their shell. This one really exhibited some intelligence.

  2. Cassie September 9, 2013 at 11:24 pm #

    I think the smartest turtles just suck into their shells and hangout until danger is gone haha. It’s crazy how they have to move water holes. Did you see why he might have needed to change water holes? Was it drying up or was there.. ahh who knows. Funny story though. The bold font was tough for me to read though LOL

    • doublebhomestead September 10, 2013 at 8:00 am #

      Hi Cassie, he was moving because the hole he had been living in was dried up so he needed to go find water elsewhere. Thanks for stopping by, come back soon.

Leave a Reply

