Self Sufficiency

5 Sep

moto_0647

I was checking a field way back in the boonies and the idea of being self-sufficient came to mind. To reach the field I was checking I had to drive through a woodland area about two miles. Much of the area had been replanted to trees a few years ago and as you can see the trees are in rows. None-the-less, there is a tremendous amount of weeds, vines and underbrush in-between the rows and I was glad I did not have to go into those woods! My job takes me to a lot of remote areas and that lends itself to being self-sufficient. I do not have a bug-out-bag, but I do have a get-home-kit! If something bad happens I am going to ride it out in my home so the main thing I need to do is get home. Often I find myself 10-20 miles away from the nearest store of any kind so I keep many emergency supplies in my vehicle. I don’t carry much on my actual person and I guess I should. In my truck I always have water in my ice chest and I have a box behind the seat with canned goods (Vienna’s, beanee-weenees, etc.) as well as crackers and cookies. I have two first aid kits with all the usual as well as spare eyeglasses, contact lenses and solution. I also keep spare socks and underwear behind the seat as well as gloves and a rain suit. In my tool box I have a shovel, chains, tow straps, hydraulic jack and tools of all kinds. In my truck I keep a GPS as well as paper maps. And of course, I always have my little friend within easy reach in case I need to go Bang! In over 30 years of doing this I have never had a bad experience with 4 legged creatures but a few times a two-legged one has caused me some concern. So I guess it just comes naturally to me to try to be self-sufficient because when you are 20 miles from no-where and you have a problem who are you going to call? Ghostbusters? No, you have to depend on yourself, so it pays to be prepared.

2 Responses to “Self Sufficiency”

  1. pioneer Preppy September 5, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

    Yep I always carry a get home bag myself. Same scenario but I am rarely more than five miles away from my homestead when out checking hives or cutting wood. Still I have pulled the boomstick a few times due to feral dogs. Never had to shoot it but I had to stare a few down.

    • doublebhomestead September 5, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

      Sometimes you have to stare down the two legged varmints as well!

Leave a Reply

