Orchard Trees

1 Sep

Lowe’s had a nice selection of fresh off-of-the-truck fruit trees so I bought 18 new trees to add to the orchard.

moto_0644

I got a mix of fig, apples, peaches, plums and pears.

moto_0648

I was able to put my new post-hole digger to use. After digging a 36 inch deep hole I took a shovel and widened the hole and filled it back in to within 12 inches of the top.

moto_0649

This left just enough space to put the two gallon root ball into the hole. I know, I know! I am supposed to dig a hole bigger than the root ball so the roots can have room to expand. That is not really necessary with my soil, it is a good silt loam and is not prone to compaction.

moto_0650

After planting the trees I watered them in good and now I am hoping for the best. Maybe In a few years I can have some fresh fruit off of my own trees.

6 Responses to “Orchard Trees”

  1. pioneer Preppy September 1, 2013 at 9:26 pm #

    Nice!!! I haven’t seen where Lowes or anyone else around us has gotten any more trees in past this Spring. I am only waiting until the road crews get finished out here to put in my final orchard trees once I know they are done bringing me wood chips. Looks like I may have to wait until Spring to finish that project now though.

    I have to make huge holes for our trees or they die.

    • doublebhomestead September 1, 2013 at 10:36 pm #

      I was surprised to find the new trees at Lowes. They looked so good I went ahead and bought them at full price and didn’t wait for a clearance sale.

  2. Stephen September 1, 2013 at 11:55 pm #

    I’d love an orchard. I have one, count ’em, one fig tree and if I’m lucky eat one fig a year…squirrels, coons, birds take the rest. Then again, I’ve been known to eat the squirrels.

    • doublebhomestead September 2, 2013 at 9:50 am #

      I don’t think I would consider 1 fig tree to be an orchard, but I guess it will be OK to just call it squirrel bait. HA!

  3. Brigid September 2, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

    Nice! I’ve got a couple cedars that are probably 50 years old along the drive that have some sort of blight. I’d best think about something to replace them, to block the view to the road. I travel to much to tend fruit, but oh they are beautiful.

    • doublebhomestead September 2, 2013 at 6:33 pm #

      Hello Brigid, it might be a good idea to get some new trees started before the old cedars die off and leave you exposed! You might plant some full size fruit trees and they might give you a little fruit even without a lot of care.

Leave a Reply

