Aphids!

28 Aug

P1020205

I have four heirloom tomatoes growing in my garden and I noticed this morning I have an aphid infestation. Rats! Well, I can solve that organically, I will just mix up a soap and water mixture and spray them down and that should solve that problem. As I was checking out the aphids I noticed I also have Cercospora Leaf Spot. This afternoon on the way home from work I stopped by Lowe’s to pick up a fungicide spray and much to my dismay all the fungicide sprays also included an insecticide in the mix. So much for my plan to stay organic in the garden. I hope the tomatoes do well this season because I usually don’t have a lot of success with them. I can do well with Okra, Squash or peas but when it comes to tomatoes “Heh, not so much”. I think I try too hard and “kill them with kindness”. I am always applying fertilizer or spraying them with something and I think I might be better off just leaving them alone and let Mother Nature take her course. I’ll let you know how they turn out.

4 Responses to “Aphids!”

  1. pioneer Preppy August 28, 2013 at 9:50 pm #

    I never use any fungicides, herbicides or anything. I had aphids early then the lady bugs ate em. I have some leaf rot but the plants are managing to outgrow it. I refuse to spray anything around my bees.

    • doublebhomestead August 28, 2013 at 10:01 pm #

      I think I might just leave my tomatoes alone as well, they might turn out better.

  2. wildriver August 29, 2013 at 7:14 am #

    Might try a vinegar solution for the fungicide, no stronger than 1 part vinegar to 8 parts water, spray effected area lightly. To much vinegar and it’ll kill the plant. 1:8 is pretty safe.

    • doublebhomestead August 29, 2013 at 7:29 am #

      Thanks for stopping by. I might just try that, apparently vinegar is truly a miracle product, does almost everything!

Leave a Reply

