Snake!

26 Aug

P1020186

If you look in the center of the tree, that is not just a crack, it is a snake crawling up the crack! I guess he was hunting for insects to eat. I don’t know for sure what kind of snake it is, but I know it is not one of the venomous kind. Still, I just don’t like snakes, I never have and I never will. I don’t understand people who keep snakes for pets. Oh well, different strokes for different folks I guess! Keep prepping everyone!

8 Responses to “Snake!”

  1. Jane tubbs August 26, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

    AAAACCCKKK!!!!!!!!

  2. pioneer Preppy August 26, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

    Thats your standard everyday Missouri Black Rat Snake. He is going up that tree for little birdies too. I have a couple of them on the place and when they are birdie hunting I always know where they are because the mocking birds will fly down and peck at their tails as they crawl across the yard.

    • doublebhomestead August 26, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

      Yeah, I let this one live, I figured it was a “good” snake and it would eat mice and voles as well as insects.

      • pioneer Preppy August 27, 2013 at 1:25 am #

        I had to step over one of them about that size the other day to get to my bee hives. The juveniles are actually brown with darker brown camo pattern and often mistaken for bad snakes.

      • doublebhomestead August 27, 2013 at 7:36 am #

        You can’t tell from the picture, but if you look closely you can see a definite pattern on the skin.

  3. Corey August 27, 2013 at 12:05 am #

    If its anything like the blacksnakes in Illinois they also eat poisonous snakes. we used to catch em and put them in the corn crib to eat rats

    • doublebhomestead August 27, 2013 at 7:34 am #

      Hello Corey, thanks for stopping by my blog. Yes, I think it is a “good” snake, if there is such a thing!

Leave a Reply

