Antique Cars

5 Aug

moto_0558

I found this item in a field today, and if you remember these you are getting old. This is the latch off of the side window of an old automobile. When I was learning to drive, sometime around 1970, most of the cars sold still didn’t come equipped with air-conditioners. When it was hot you had to roll down the windows to cool off. Most vehicles of the day had small side windows that could be opened and the airflow directed inside, much like the window pictured below.

2011-Classic-Recreations-Shelby-GT500CR-Side-View-Mirror-1280x960

We called the air conditioners in these type of cars the 250 model. To get air in this car you rolled down 2 windows and drove 50 miles per hour! Like I said, if you grew up riding in this style of cars without AC, you are getting old, just like me!

2 Responses to “Antique Cars”

  1. pioneer Preppy August 5, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

    I think my truck still has side windows. I never use them but I think they are there.

Leave a Reply

