Cute Kitten

4 Aug

imagesCAYO2GGI

I was driving through town on my way to work yesterday when I looked ahead in front of me and I saw something in the street. The cars in front of me were passing over something and I first thought it might be a bird, then I realized it was a kitten. So I just stopped in the middle of the street, put my truck in park and got out and picked up the kitten. This tiny kitten was wet from walking through the wet, dewy grass, trembling like a leaf. It probably followed the Mama cat as she crossed the street but fell behind and got scared and just stopped. Who wouldn’t be scared with those giant, loud, smelly cars passing over? I wondered what to do with it and I looked around and noticed another kitten sitting on the edge of a porch at the nearest house. I walked over and placed the kitten on the porch with the other one. All this probably took place in 30 seconds or so. During this time, 5 or 6 cars had backed up behind me. Two cars got impatient and gunned around the line, going way too fast, honking their horns and flipping me the finger. I just smiled and waved on the outside while on the inside flipping them the bird right back. This is the first Sweet Thing has heard of this and she is probably really relieved I didn’t bring the kitten home, and I have to admit it crossed my mind for a second. If I had not seen the other kitten on the porch this one might have been the newest resident of the homestead. It boggled my mind how people can get so upset over having to wait just thirty seconds. Is their time so valuable they can’t give up 30 seconds without becoming enraged enough to start flipping someone off? I guess some people have no patience or compassion for other people or any of God’s innocent creatures. Stop and smell the roses people, life is short!

4 Responses to “Cute Kitten”

  1. Lorilee August 5, 2013 at 12:39 am #

    I am so glad you rescued it before it got run over!
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

    • doublebhomestead August 5, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

      I picked it up just in time I think. I hope it doesn’t wander back out into the street.

  2. Beatrice P. Boyd August 6, 2013 at 1:08 pm #

    Great that you stopped when those other drivers whizzed by, and hope the mama cat keeps an eye on her kids cause good samaritans might not be around when they wander. Truth be known I too would have been tempted to take a stray kitten home and could not leave it in a roadway. Kudos to you, my friend cause you done great!

    • doublebhomestead August 6, 2013 at 5:50 pm #

      Thanks, I felt it was the least I could do. The rest is up to fate.

Leave a Reply

