Healthy Dinner

18 Jul

moto_0538

I have been trying to eat healthier lately so we have been going to the local Farmer’s Market and buying fresh vegetables. I am having Sweet Corn on the cob, purple hull peas, and new potatoes all from the market. I am also having mustard greens from our freezer that we grew last Fall. The Sweet Corn was scarce in our area this year so the corn was selling for $5 a dozen. OUCH! It is usually $3 a dozen and most people throw in a couple of extra ears but not this year.

moto_0566

One of the vendors at the market had these ugly, old-fashioned heirloom tomatoes. I don’t eat raw tomatoes but Sweet Thing said they were delicious!

2 Responses to “Healthy Dinner”

  1. pioneer Preppy July 18, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

    My corn is being destroyed by Japanese beetles. I been hand picking em off for days now but I think I discovered the damage too late.

    How can anyone not eat raw tomatoes? OMG I am screaming that all my early tomatoes got end rot this year and now I have to wait for the actual crop to ripen.

    • doublebhomestead July 19, 2013 at 7:31 am #

      From reading your blog, it sounds like your garden is doing really well. I don’t know why I can’t stand raw tomatoes, I love them cooked with okra or in soups and stews and I will eat ketchup on almost anything. But raw they don’t do anything for me.

Leave a Reply

