Bees and Honey

5 Jul

P1020133

I mention bees on my blog quite often, and I saw this at the edge of a field I was checking. There were 20 boxes on this trailer. Actually I was interested in the trailer, after examining it closely I’m sure it was made out of salvaged axles and a frame of a single-wide mobile home. A good way to repurpose something like that!

P1020134

P1020135

About 5 miles down the road I saw two more trailers from the same beekeeper. Then I saw one more full trailer just a little later with the same farm name on the hives. The address for this beekeeper is over 70 miles from here, so he came a long way to put them out. I counted about 80 hives in this little area, and it made me wonder how many hives does he actually have? Way more than I would ever want!

3 Responses to “Bees and Honey”

  1. pioneer Preppy July 5, 2013 at 10:46 pm #

    Ya know I been thinking about doing something like that but I can’t find an answer on what the going rate per hive per mile usually is. The few who admit to doing it are pretty mum about their charge.

  2. pioneer Preppy July 6, 2013 at 11:49 am #

    That’s odd I left a comment and it’s not here.

    I wonder how much they charge for pollination services. It seems like pimping out your bees 🙂

Leave a Reply

