Wild Flowers

30 Jun

moto_0498

I kept noticing these wild flowers all along the road, it seemed like they were everywhere. I stopped and checked them out and I realized they are elderberry bushes. Man if I could find a good use for the berries I could have more than I could ever use. Maybe wine, jelly, pie, cobbler? I’ll have to check into it more.

moto_0490

There are a lot of black-eyed susans blooming on the homestead.

moto_0373

moto_0374

These are golden trumpet-creeper blooms. I recently planted 3 bags of wild-flower seeds in the area where I have the deer food plots. I’ll let you see how that turns out. I planted the seeds and we had 1/2 inch of rain last night so hopefully they will come right up.

2 Responses to “Wild Flowers”

  1. Susan July 3, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

    I believe Paratus Familia has a post on elderberry wine you may want to check out. I remember that they were making the wine for cold/flu season, it’s been a while since I’ve read the article.

    • doublebhomestead July 3, 2013 at 10:16 pm #

      Susan’ thanks for stopping by. I’ll have to check out that site.

Leave a Reply

