Relics and Artifacts

29 Jun

moto_0518

I was in a field and I spotted this really nice projectile point. It was made out of a nice pretty white stone and the point is so sharp I had to be careful carrying it in my pocket. I spotted it out of the corner of my eye and looked and saw how white it was and I almost didn’t stop. The plastic irrigation pipe we use is white as well as most of the chemical jugs are white so you see a lot of pieces of jagged white plastic in the field. I thought that is probably just plastic, but I needed to stop and examine the crop closely so I stopped anyway and boy, I’m glad I did. People sometimes ask me how I see so much stuff as I am going through the field. Most of our fields are 1/4 of a mile from top to bottom and I make 4-6 passes through each one. That works out to be covering 1 to 1&1/2 miles in each field and I am looking down to check for weeds, insects, bloom shed and just general plant conditions. And if there is something out of the ordinary my eye naturally goes to it.

moto_0496

In the next field I found this small piece of projectile point and a marble. I decided to take a picture of all the junk I saw that day.

moto_0481

I don’t know what this is, it might be something left over from the mule farming days.

moto_0483

A 12 in piece of solid steel rod.

moto_0484

A steel blade from a tillage implement.

moto_0485

A steel wheel off of a tillage implement.

moto_0482

I have no idea what this is, it is a heavy piece of angle iron but it has two fine toothed, lightweight gears attached.

moto_0439

A jawbone of some animal. If I was Sampson I could use it to slay a score of Philistines! Smile with tongue out

 

moto_0486

A 4 inch bolt which I kept. The other junk I just picked up and pitched into the fence line. Something like that could get picked up and go into a harvest machine and cause a lot of damage. Well, that is just a sampling of the stuff I find every day. Stay observant and see what you might find.

3 Responses to “Relics and Artifacts”

  1. pioneer Preppy June 30, 2013 at 8:28 am #

    Only is it a jawbone of an Ass.

    I think the jawbone of a dog only works against Femocrats.

  2. Lorilee June 30, 2013 at 1:09 pm #

    Wow, you do find an odd assortment of things out amongst your plants. The last thing of note I found in my garden was a large snake skin. I am wondering when I will come across its owner!
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

    • doublebhomestead July 2, 2013 at 10:37 am #

      If the skin is there the owner is around somewhere close. Be on a sharp lookout!

Leave a Reply

