Equipment Envy!

17 Jun

Yesterday I showed you what the lawn looked like before and after the sod was laid.

P1020043

They brought out a nice 40 HP tractor with a special piece of equipment attached.

moto_0462

This is a Woods TPR 6000 Landscaping Power Rake.

P1020051

When the landscaper starting describing what he would do to prepare the soil I pictured in my mind something like a PTO driven garden tiller like I have seen on the dealer’s lots. But this is really just a steel pipe with 2 inch steel fingers sticking out. The PTO spins the pipe and the fingers loosen the soil and pull out the existing vegetation. Sounds pretty simple doesn’t it? That will never work!

P1020044

P1020045

The first pass looked like this.

P1020046

But after 3 passes it looked like this, WOW! All the little washes and gullies were filled in and there was a nice 2 inch layer of loose soil prepared to lay the sod on.

moto_0463

They even used it to pulverize and level out the gravel driveway. Man, I need one of those badly! I will always have some rough, washed out places somewhere on the homestead, after all, there is very little of this property on the level, most of it is on a slope. I looked up that equipment on the internet and the average cost is $6500 dollars. YIKES! I guess I don’t need one that badly after all! The landscaper said I could rent one like that for $75 a day. At that rate I could rent it 2 days a year  for 43 years and it would still be cheaper for me to rent one, and the rental company would have to pay the repair and upkeep costs. So next Spring I think I will just rent one and smooth out the rough spots and sling out some grass seeds. That should help keep things in shape around here, more to come.

3 Responses to “Equipment Envy!”

  1. pioneer Preppy June 17, 2013 at 10:49 pm #

    I have never had the best of luck with rental equipment operating like it should. For 6500 bucks though….

  2. Rae June 18, 2013 at 12:31 am #

    That. Is. AWESOME! Wonder if there’s one at our local rental place that would work with our tractor. Our neighbor drags an old bed frame, of all things, behind his tiny little tractor to level out our “driveway” (a county gravel rd that the county does NOT maintain). Does a surprisingly good job, but maybe he’d go in on the rental with us. 🙂

    • doublebhomestead June 18, 2013 at 8:18 am #

      I would sure check into it. I could not believe what a good job it did smoothing out the ruts and dips. I sure wish I could have one of my very own!

Leave a Reply

