Honey Bees and Mocking Birds

7 Jun

I pulled under a shade tree today to eat my lunch and I kept hearing a buzzing sound. I got out of my truck and found a hive of Honey Bees in a tree.

P1020021

Some of them were going in this knot hole.

P1020022

Most of them were going in and out of this opening.

P1020029

A few hours and many miles later I was unloading my ATV to check a field and I discovered another hive in this tree. Two hives in one day, I think that makes me the KING BEE!

wpbee

After I ate my sandwich for lunch I leaned my seat back to take a 20 minute power nap and a Mockingbird cut loose with his full repertoire of bird songs.

NorthernMockingbird

In our area, we have Northern Mockingbirds like this one. He perched out on a barren limb and starting singing and he must have performed 30 different calls in a row without a break then he started over. Well, so much for my nap, time to move on. Stay prepared!

2 Responses to “Honey Bees and Mocking Birds”

  1. pioneer Preppy June 7, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

    If you ever want to keep bees remember where those feral hives are and check them often or better yet place traps near them. Feral hives like those push out a number of swarms usually.

    • doublebhomestead June 10, 2013 at 10:14 am #

      I’m looking forward to having the time to do more homestead activities such as beekeeping, hopefully next year!

Leave a Reply

