Homestead Update

1 Jun

moto_0418

One of the benefits of completing my “Man Cave” is being able to bring my cats from the old place in town. I rescued these cats about a years ago when they just barely had their eyes open, since that time they have never been apart for even one minute.

moto_0416

The white one is Kensey.

moto_0410

This one is named Oreo. I have a bit of a mouse problem in the shop but I didn’t put out any poison, I said these cats would solve that problem. Sweet Thing says “great mouse hunters, huh? anytime I go check on them they are laying up under the AC sleeping!” So I broke down and bought 6 traps and set them out last night. I had 3 kills and 2 misses.

P1020004

I wanted them to be able to go outside so I put in a pet door so they can go in and out at will.

P1010999

I can’t let them run free because of the predators around here such as foxes, coyotes, and hawks. I built this chicken coop enclosure to have them a safe place to go out. I also wanted to build this as a practice run for when I build my real chicken coop this winter. I found these plans at Back Yard Chickens. They have some good detailed plans for building a permanent coop so I adapted the plans for my needs.

P1020003

P1020002

They really enjoy being out and scratching in the dirt, more to come.

2 Responses to “Homestead Update”

  1. pioneer Preppy June 1, 2013 at 10:25 pm #

    That’s a neat idea. I showed it to the Mrs. because we are getting ready to start on her cat house as well. She said it was kinda ugly. LOL. I think it is beautiful and a lot less work and money than a bigger run.

    • doublebhomestead June 2, 2013 at 10:42 am #

      Yeah, it might be ugly but it gets the job done. You can make it as long as you want. Follow the link I included and look at the coop they built, it looks really good. They took their time and did it right!

Leave a Reply

