Yes, I Am Alive And Well!

31 May

And as promised, I will give a brief update about the goings on around the new homestead. As I have been working 70 hours per week lately, I haven’t had much time to work on projects around the homestead.

moto_0405

We are in the midst of cotton planting season, but this 3 inches of rain pulled us up to a screeching halt.

moto_0407

I took the time off to finish my “Man Cave” and I brought my old recliner from the house in town. I might need to kick back and take a little nap after a hard morning working around the homestead.

moto_0422

I bushogged around the property again, I even cut down the deer food plot. It was turning brown and going to seed so I am going to plant something else for the summer. I did leave a small area still standing, as I was mowing, I saw lots of birds working the plot. I don’t know if they were eating the seeds on the plants or eating bugs, but they sure were working it hard so I left some of it for them.

moto_0423

I got a load of topsoil to spread around the area where we are planning to lay sod. We need a dry, rain-free weekend to lay the sod and we haven’t had one of those all year! Maybe we can get it done next weekend. More to come tomorrow.

4 Responses to “Yes, I Am Alive And Well!”

  1. ourlittleacres May 31, 2013 at 9:21 pm #

    I was wondering if you floated away in all the water. Glad you’re alive and well. You can’t plant because of the rain and we’re watering our gardens! We’re supposed to get some rain by Sunday. Praying hard!

    • doublebhomestead May 31, 2013 at 10:41 pm #

      I hope you get the rain you need, I’ll pass on any more this week.

  2. pioneer Preppy May 31, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

    over 6 inches up here in a day and a half so far. Roads and streets are flooded everywhere. It’s coming down faster than it can be washed away.

    • doublebhomestead May 31, 2013 at 10:42 pm #

      The weatherman says that is headed my way for tomorrow, I hope we miss that.

Leave a Reply

