New Water Line

17 May

I need a water hydrant down by the dog pen so I decided to run the line today.

P1010980

First I hooked up my middle buster plow and ran a trench down to the pen.

P1010985

P1010986

It only dug down about 4 inches but I used the same anchor spikes I used to hold down the fence on the dog pen so I think the pipe and wires will stay down deep enough. I ran the pipe and the wire in the same trench, I asked my contractor if this was up to code when he did the same thing out to my barn. He said as long as I used the heavy duty underground wire I could use the same trench. Even though the trench is only 4 inches deep it will be much better than having a hose and extension cord laying on top of the ground all year long!

5 Responses to “New Water Line”

  1. ourlittleacres May 17, 2013 at 9:21 pm #

    We sure couldn’t get by with 4″ deep for water line here in WV! It’s always nice to check off another project.

    • doublebhomestead May 17, 2013 at 11:55 pm #

      The line might freeze every now and then but it sure beats having a hose laying in the yard 365 days a year!

      • ourlittleacres May 19, 2013 at 10:40 am #

        At 4″ deep it wouldn’t just freeze here. It would burst wide open!

  2. pioneer Preppy May 17, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

    Ya I wouldn’t have thought you were that much further South of my place to get by with only four inches on a water line. I would need at least twelve here or it would freeze at some point.

    I have thought of simply burying a warm weather only line to my raised beds and garden area however.

    • doublebhomestead May 17, 2013 at 11:53 pm #

      The line is running downhill so if the forecast is for temps in the low teens I can cut the water off at the house and drain the line until the frigid cold passes. Shouldn’t occur more than a few days each winter.

Leave a Reply

