Native Irises

16 May

I found a clump of Native Irises growing right on the edge of a field I am checking.

P1010967

P1010968

I am going to dig these up the first chance I get and transplant them to the homestead. I always have a shovel in the bed of my truck but it was early in the day when I saw them so I couldn’t dig them and haul them around all day. Next week I will make it a point to go by there late in the day just before I head home. I think they will make a nice addition to my flowers and best of all, they are free!

3 Responses to “Native Irises”

  1. TeachX3 May 16, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

    They are absolutely gorgeous… God sure is a Master of beauty! 😀 I love their color!

  2. russell1200 May 17, 2013 at 9:58 pm #

    They look a little like a Spanish Iris (Iris xiphium). I have some old timey bearded irises, and modern (boring) purple ones. With so many old small farms plowed under, you get a lot of “wild” roses around here. But if you look real close the bigger ones sometimes tend to line up with each other.

Leave a Reply

