Spring Time Blues

9 May

Yeah, yeah, I know it has been several days since I put up a post but this lousy weather we have been having just gives me the BLAHs!

moto_0382

The corn I have been looking at is finally growing but it still looks pale and sickly. It should be knee-high by now but it is only 4 inches tall. We should be well into cotton planting time but as I write this on May the 9th, I don’t have a single field of cotton planted yet. Between the weekly rains and the cold fronts rolling through, the cotton seeds have stayed in the sack. I want it to dry up now, but I don’t want the drought to start either. Just hold off on the rain for 14 days so we can get some work done.  So just what have I done the past two weeks?

moto_0391

Nothing too much exciting that’s for sure, that is why I haven’t bothered to post anything. We mowed the homestead three times this Spring and I did some more clean-up along the front fence line. Some of the trees were big enough to cut for firewood so I cut up three buckets full and added them to the pile for next winter. I finished the walls and ceilings in my Man-Cave in my shop and got everything painted. I need to finish wiring in the lights and I can start moving in. More on that later.

5 Responses to “Spring Time Blues”

  1. TeachX3 May 9, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

    I visited here, earlier today, to make sure you had not posted an entry and it was not showing up in my reader for some reason… but saw that you had not, *whew* at least my reader is working! LOL We have had a lot of rain too, as I type, I’m listening to it. Here’s hoping it stops long enough for you to get your crop planted and then gently feeds your crops thoroughly for the rest of the season!

    • doublebhomestead May 9, 2013 at 10:01 pm #

      From your lips to Gods ears! Thanks for stopping in, I’ll try to post a little more in the future even though it probably won’t be daily.

      • TeachX3 May 9, 2013 at 10:06 pm #

        Oh, no pressure brother… life sometimes keeps us pretty busy 😉

  2. pioneer Preppy May 9, 2013 at 10:33 pm #

    I think we have finally shifted into the drying out mode now. We got almost an inch of rain today but unlike the other storms it went by fast and the sun came out. By evening we had actually ended up with a net drier soil overall I think.

    I know what you mean though, you hate cursing the rain because of what the drought did last year but if it doesn’t dry out you can’t get anything done.

    • doublebhomestead May 10, 2013 at 8:22 am #

      When the rain stops let’s hope for a more normal pattern this summer!

Leave a Reply

