Spring Flowers

26 Apr

The calendar says it is Spring and the trees are leafing out and the flowers are blooming but it sure is COLD!

moto_0333

moto_0334

This is a bush Peony I planted at our old house.

moto_0331

moto_0332

I forget the name of this plant but it is one of the few that will thrive in the shade.

moto_0349

This is not a bloom on this Hosta , but look at that color! I bought this last year and it had just 4 little leaves but it was enough to give me a glimpse of that vivid yellow color. This really gives a splash of color in the deep shade garden.

 

moto_0338

moto_0339

The crimson clover in the deer food plot is blooming.

moto_0340

This is the turnip patch I planted last fall, it is blooming and going to seed. I may not have to plant any next fall, I may have enough volunteers to make enough to pick. But even with all these blooms, we had a frost advisory 2 nights ago. Oh well, maybe it will warm up soon.

3 Responses to “Spring Flowers”

  1. Rae April 26, 2013 at 10:49 pm #

    LOVE peony blossoms! Maybe I need to plant some here at the new house. At our old house, I had to dig them out, as they were COVERED in ants when they budded. No idea why. No other bugs. Just ants. And being next to the house, that wasn’t welcome.

    Love all your blooms!

    • doublebhomestead April 27, 2013 at 12:05 am #

      Maybe you could plant away from the house? Another suggestion, you might have had aphids on the Peonys. Aphids cause honey dew and the ants feed on the honey dew.

      • Rae April 27, 2013 at 12:13 am #

        If I plant some at the new house, they’d definitely be away from the house itself. šŸ™‚ I had looked at the ones at the old place, and they had no bugs other than the ants. Aphids had been my first thought too, but were a no go. Unfortunately, the beds along the house were the only place for flowers there. Here, though, I have much more space. May need to get a’plantin. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

