Mushrooms and Morels

14 Apr

moto_0314

moto_0315

I am going to say right up front I know nothing about mushrooms except the ones you buy at the grocery store. I found this one growing in the front of the homestead. I looked up some images on Google and I think this one is a Yellow Morel or a Common Morel. If it is, the Yellow Morel seems to be highly prized among wild Mushroom hunters. Do any of you know what this might be from this picture and if it is a Yellow Morel what do they taste like compared to grocery store mushrooms? I know you can buy kits with mushroom spores and grow your own, that might be safer than picking them in the wild. I wouldn’t want to inadvertently eat some of those widow-makers! Be safe!

3 Responses to “Mushrooms and Morels”

  1. pioneer Preppy April 14, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

    Thats definitely a morel and edible. It doesn’t have a black ring around the bottom or a dark top so it might be a yellow one but I am not familiar with the different varieties outside of that distinctive top.

    My dad is the mushroom expert, what knowledge I have comes from him trying to teach me but I am the worlds worst mushroom finder. I can walk right over an entire bed of them and not see them. However I can ID many of the edible and poisonous ones if someone shoves em in my face like my Dad did. Stay away from the smooth topped ones is basically a good guide to go by. The big red ones were my father’s favorite though.

  2. pioneer Preppy April 14, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

    Oh ya and stay away from the crinkly topped ones that are rounded on top and not elongated like the one you have pictured. Those are false morels and poisonous. Once you see a false morel you will never mistake them for true morels from what I have seen.

  3. oldschoolonestop April 15, 2013 at 6:02 am #

    if you want to grow your own, you may want to read this
    http://internationalpreppersnetwork.net/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=1194

Leave a Reply

