Homestead Hogs

11 Apr

I was out by the road today and a man pulled up to ask directions to a nearby processing plant. (that is the politically correct term, sounds much better than slaughter-house doesn’t it?) Hot smile Anyway, I gave him directions so he could deliver his hogs.

moto_0309 (2)

I thought about telling him to just unload them here, after all, every good self-respecting homestead needs hogs! But I didn’t have a pen ready for them so I had to pass them up. I know Sweet Thing would have been really excited to come home and see these hogs grazing across the yard. Well, she will just have to wait a little longer. Did you notice I said pig pen and not pig sty? I have never in my life actually heard anyone use the term sty in real life. Do you say pig pen or sty in your part of the world?

4 Responses to “Homestead Hogs”

  1. Stephen April 11, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

    In my part of the world when a pig reaches two hundred pounds its called a, Hog. Then its enclosed in a hog pen.

    • doublebhomestead April 11, 2013 at 10:05 pm #

      Pig pen or hog pen is the same, still not a sty! Must be a Yankee term.

  2. oldschoolonestop April 12, 2013 at 6:35 am #

    pig pen….pig sty is what I called my step-son’s bedroom

    • doublebhomestead April 12, 2013 at 10:19 am #

      HAHA! I have heard the word “sty” used in that context many times, just for humans and not hogs.

Leave a Reply

