Old Relics and Artifacts

5 Apr

I finished cleaning up the area in front where the old house burned; now I am ready to spread some mulch in that area and plant some Azaleas or other perennials.

moto_0304

This is most of the soil I scooped up with my front end loader as I was cleaning up. I am going to build a soil sieve to fit over my wheelbarrow and I am going to sift out this big mound of soil one shovelful at a time. Why you might ask?

moto_0300

As I was cleaning I found this nice old marble. I’ve told you before I like looking for old marbles in old house sites.

moto_0303

Today I found this beautiful Indian artifact. The edge is completely serrated as fine as a hacksaw blade, I have no idea how they were able to do that just using other rocks. As I was lifting up a load of soil with the loader I spotted a large coin just at the instant it slid back down into the mound! I know it is in there somewhere. There is no telling what I might find in that pile. When I get finished I will have some fine soil for the flower beds and all the nails, rocks, glass and other debris will be sorted out and disposed of in an appropriate manner. The main reason I am going to sort through this is because I just want to, it will be fun for me. I always like finding things. When I was a child I grew up in the flat lands of South Arkansas and all we had was dirt without a rock to be seen except what was hauled in for gravel. The road in front of our house was covered with small river washed gravel, a lot of it the size of marbles and smaller. You could look through the pieces and find fossils and tiny sea creatures embedded in the rocks. On some hot summer days I would scoop up a bucket full of gravel and sit in the shade going through the bucket piece by piece looking for the fossils like Indiana Jones! I still like finding things so looking through all that mound of soil will be a pleasure for me. If I find anything interesting I will share it with you, until then, be prepared.

7 Responses to “Old Relics and Artifacts”

  1. pioneer Preppy April 5, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

    Neat finds! I have sworn off front end loaders and scoops for the time being. I am now attempting to gear my entire operation to less than 18 horsepower which means I am not using the tractor I have available with a scoop. Best I can do right now is blade stuff with my old 9n and then hand shovel it to the truck bed.

    • doublebhomestead April 5, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

      I try to avoid as much hand shoveling as possible! If I can not buy fuel for my tractor I wll resort to the shovel, until that time it is Kubota and FEL all the time.

  2. thatoldschoolgirl April 6, 2013 at 4:25 am #

    very cool

  3. brocktownsend April 13, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

    Beautiful arrowhead.

    • doublebhomestead April 13, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by, I was really glad to find this one, it is extra nice!

      • brocktownsend April 13, 2013 at 11:15 pm #

        Thank you. I had a small amount, but they were stolen along with my Confederate cannon ball. Really killed me.

Leave a Reply

