Gravel Driveways

16 Mar

moto_0230

We have a nice red clay gravel driveway at our homestead but Sweet Thing said she wanted some more of the 33C grey gravel. The red clay slings up and sticks to the sides of her vehicle when it is wet, so I ordered 2 more loads of 33C.

moto_0240

I spent an afternoon spreading it on top of the red gravel with my Kubota and now we have a pretty white driveway. The red clay gravel made a good solid base for the driveway so I hope this lasts a long time because gravel is expensive.

moto_0239

As I was out working today I saw this pile of gravel or rather this mountain of gravel. I don’t know what they intend to do with it or where they are going to use it, but I am certainly glad I am not having to pay for it! In a way I probably am paying for it because I bet it is some type of government project going on in the area. I sure would like to have a couple of loads of that around my barn. Be prepared!

2 Responses to “Gravel Driveways”

  1. pioneer Preppy March 16, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

    No kidding gravel sucks. It’s expensive and it sinks into the ground no matter how much you get it’s just a constant maintenance expense. I need to put a few loads around the barn as well.

    What did ya pay for yours down that way?

    • doublebhomestead March 16, 2013 at 10:18 pm #

      $550 for 24 tons delivered. I hope this holds out for a while.

Leave a Reply

