Spring Cleaning

15 Mar

I started doing some outdoor Spring cleaning around the homestead this week. The weather was sunny and in the 70’s today so it was perfect for working.

moto_0233

For today’s projects I decided the pallet forks for the front of my front end loader bucket would come in handy.

moto_0234

I ended up with two pallets of bricks left over after construction. I intended to have some extra in case in the future we had to make any repairs on our walls we would have bricks that matched perfectly. I picked the bricks up by hand and stacked them on these pallets and used the forks on the front end loader to pick them up and place them in an inconspicuous place along the back fence line. That load of bricks was just about too heavy for the tractor and hydraulics to handle, it would barely pick them up high enough to move.

moto_0231

Some of you might remember there was a small house that burned down near the front of the homestead. Even though the house is gone, the elevated concrete front porch is still there. Sweet Thing has been wanting me to clean it up and I couldn’t talk her out of it. I said we could clean up around it and it would make an interesting conversation piece. NO! she says. I could plant some flowers around it. NO! We could put some chairs on the slab. NO! We could put some of our Gargoyles or other garden ornaments on it for decorations. NO! She sure is hard to please sometimes, I guess that is why she waited so long to find me, she wanted the best! Hot smile

moto_0235

I used the forks and bucket to bust up the slab, then I picked up the pieces and placed them in the hedgerows along the fence line. I intend to use these slabs for erosion control in the future, waste not, want not!

moto_0236

While I had the forks mounted to the bucket, I picked up a HUGE load of brush I had cut and piled up. I picked up this brush and carried it all the way to the back of the homestead and left it there for a wildlife hideaway. Keep prepping everyone!

4 Responses to “Spring Cleaning”

  1. Rae March 15, 2013 at 11:43 pm #

    Ooooh! I want pallet forks! That would be super super for our tractor. Jealous!!!

    • doublebhomestead March 16, 2013 at 10:22 pm #

      They really don’t cost that much, at least not compared to other accessories. If I remember correctly, these cost $200.

      • Rae March 17, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

        Hm… In that case, perhaps I’ve found hubby’s anniversary present. Lol.

      • doublebhomestead March 17, 2013 at 1:41 pm #

        I’m sure he would like that. Just tell him you are doing it for his own good, he can use the forks to pick up heavy things and not hurt his back. Ahhh, How Romantic!

Leave a Reply

