False Advertising

12 Mar

moto_0227

I started cleaning up around the front part of the homestead today. I have a burn barrel that the contractor left after he finished our house. I had some small pieces of wood trim piled up near the barrel and since it is almost Spring I didn’t think I would need to burn any more wood in the fireplace so I decided to burn it in the barrel. I bought these Diamond brand green tip strike anywhere matches off of Amazon. All I can say about these matches is HOGWASH! They should be called strike nowhere matches. Every time I tried to light one the tip just shot off without lighting. It was a good thing I was not out in the wilderness, soaking wet with a cold rain pouring down, I would be frozen to death right now. I am going to call this false advertising. Luckily, I did manage to get the fire started after I used a dozen matches; the ones that did light didn’t even burn very well either. My advice is don’t buy these matches, try something else. Get yourself a storm proof Zippo and you will always be prepared to start a fire when you really need one.

2 Responses to “False Advertising”

  1. Practical Parsimony March 13, 2013 at 1:28 am #

    You may have gotten a bad batch. They strike all the time for me. I certainly won’t be tossing mine out. Maybe you should contact the manufacturer.

    • doublebhomestead March 13, 2013 at 9:33 am #

      I’m glad yours worked out for you. I’ll just plan on using a dozen everytime I need a match! They won’t last long that way, but that will be easier than going back to the manufacturer.

Leave a Reply

