Deer Antlers

11 Mar

The weather this past weekend was especially nice for this time of year and I spent the time pulling soil samples. I had a lot of chores I could have been doing around the homestead, but I also had a lot of work chores that needed to be done. It’s amazing how work interferes with the rest of your life isn’t it? Anyway, I could think of worse things to be doing other than riding my ATV through some fields along some beautiful wooded acres. Did I mention these fields bordered the Hatchie River National Wildlife Refuge? moto_0213

I saw a million deer tracks although I didn’t actually see any deer. I did find this one deer antler; these antlers are called deer sheds. The antlers fall off, or shed, during the early Spring, thus the name sheds. Some people intentionally go out looking for antlers by walking along and following deer trails. A good place to look is where the trails go through thick cover or through a fence. In these places the antlers can snag on a branch or wire, and being ready to come loose anyway, they just pop off. I did see a large flock of turkeys as I drove through a gap in the trees into a field. The flock ran every direction for a few seconds then took off flying in every direction as well. I stopped and sat for a few minutes and listened to them as they began to call to each other to try to get back together and reform the flock.

moto_0214

So, even though I was working I made the best of the situation and enjoyed a nice 70 degree Spring day. I saw some turkeys, heard the birds singing, saw the trees budding and saw some Spring flowers blooming. All in all, not a bad weekend. How was your weekend?

4 Responses to “Deer Antlers”

  1. pioneer Preppy March 11, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

    It was cold up here today. Upper 20’s in the morning and sleet but finally got up to the 40’s by late afternoon and you could just feel the warm air pushing in a little. My bet is we just saw the last of Winter or I hope anyway.

    • doublebhomestead March 12, 2013 at 12:14 am #

      Today was a lot colder here as well. Spring is just around the corner, predicting 70’s again by this weekend.

  2. ourlittleacres March 12, 2013 at 9:34 am #

    Beautiful, 65 and sunny! Hubby plowed and tilled our 1st section of garden on our new farm. It rained pretty good last night and I’m just waiting for the chance to put in some onions and taters! BUT tomorrow’s high will be about 34 and down to 22 tomorrow night!

    • doublebhomestead March 12, 2013 at 10:05 am #

      Temperatures bouncing up and down around here as well. I also have some onions to set out, will try to do so today after it warms up a bit.

Leave a Reply

