Skin Infections

6 Mar

moto_0167 (2)

I took my dog Jethro to the vet today after I noticed he had some sort of skin infection. It really is not as bad as this picture looks, that is just a trick of the light.

2-dog-skin-patches-circular-in-shape-missing-fur-and-scaly-looking-21468912

He has 3 of these spots, about 1 inch in diameter where the hair is coming out. The vet tested for mange and ruled that out, that left any number of possibilities as to what could be causing this. He gave me some antibiotics in case it is bacterial in nature and he instructed me to get some athletes foot spray to treat the bad spots in case it is fungal in nature. He seems to lean towards this explanation, and he told me to maintain this course of action for a week and call him if it is not a lot better. After I got Jethro home, I brushed his hair backwards where I could get a good look at his skin and I could see a lot of bad scaly patches, the hair just has not come off where you can see it well. I am going to call the vet tomorrow and describe it to him and see if he wants to stay the course or try something different. I hope I can get this cleared up soon, it is a lot of trouble to wrestle around with him to put medicine on his skin. Today he officially weighed 99 pounds at the vet weigh-in, and when he doesn’t want to do something, he is strong enough it is hard to MAKE him do it. I’ll let you know how this works out later.

3 Responses to “Skin Infections”

  1. Megha July 1, 2014 at 10:11 am #

    Hey did you figure out what the infection was ? My dog has the same thing and we have tried antibiotics , medicated shampoos and even anti fungal treatments but it keeps coming back . Do let me know what worked for you and your dog . Many thanks

    • doublebhomestead July 1, 2014 at 9:40 pm #

      The spots seem to have diminished now. The vet says Labs are prone to have seasonal allergies. When I was treating him with athletes foot spray (anti-fungal) it helped heal the spots, you might try that.

      • Megha July 2, 2014 at 4:38 am #

        Thank you so much. unfortunately we have been using topical anti fungal creams and liquids as well – prescribed by the vet – they help for a short while but don’t seem to resolve the issue

Leave a Reply

