Winter Storm Saturn

2 Mar

I hope everyone is safe from Winter Storm Saturn, especially you folks in the Mid-West who had so much snow recently. We have had three days of continual snow flurries and I am getting ready to dig myself out.

moto_0166

Yeah, there it is on the steps, might take me a while to get free and clear and work myself out of that. HAHA!

moto_0167

I know what some of you are thinking, you have had deeper frosts than this snow. The temperatures stayed around 34 degrees so we had no accumulation. I know some most of you are probably tired of the snow, but out in the Mid-west, you are still in the midst of a severe drought. Any precipitation you can get this Winter will help restore the soil moisture and that will go a long way to bringing things back to normal. Around here, the uppermost 12 inches are moist but below that it is still dry as a powder keg. We need the moisture to go all of the way through the sub-soil so if we go through a little “normal” dry-spell, the trees, grass and crops will be able to withstand it. I have already seen some trees that are dead from the drought, and I am sure many more are in serious trouble and won’t be able to withstand another summer like the last one. I’m sure most of you that read this blog are prepared for a small blizzard and won’t be too inconvenienced from the storm. As for the rest of you, let this be a lesson, Get Prepared!

4 Responses to “Winter Storm Saturn”

  1. ourlittleacres March 2, 2013 at 11:45 pm #

    I wouldn’t mind seeing a little more snow here in WV. We’ve been getting flurries off and on for several days but it’s been a little too warm to stick. Looks like that may change. We have about 1/2″ and it’s still coming down and getting colder. I’d much rather have snow and frozen ground than mud.

    • doublebhomestead March 2, 2013 at 11:55 pm #

      Yeah, snow is pretty for a day or two, then it turns grey. I guess we just take whatever comes our way though. Just be prepared and hope for the best.

  2. pioneer Preppy March 3, 2013 at 3:33 pm #

    I don’t mind the snow as long as it doesn’t stay for weeks like this crap we got now has. Usually our snow is gone within a few days, even the deep stuff. Not so this time.

Leave a Reply

