Acrophobia & Claustrophobia

25 Feb

I wouldn’t say I really had acrophobia, or a fear of heights, I just don’t like being too high. I call that having good sense!

moto_0145

I saw this scene at one of the local churches recently, and acrophobia or not, I’m glad I wasn’t up in that bucket. I don’t know what they were doing, but I am glad it was them instead of me.

article-new_ehow_images_a04_sh_es_overcoming-claustrophobia-800x800

Someone who suffers from claustrophobia would panic in a situation such as this, and even though I wouldn’t like it, I wouldn’t panic. But I really don’t like being underneath something like a house or even an automobile. I’m OK if I can crawl on my hands and knees, I’m also OK if I have to scooch along on my belly as long as I can roll over. If I get in there and it is so low I can’t roll over I get antsy real quick and all I can think of is getting out of there. That is one reason our new home doesn’t have a crawl space. What kind of phobias do you have?

3 Responses to “Acrophobia & Claustrophobia”

  1. Cathy February 25, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

    Gephyrophobia — fear of bridges! I have had it for as long as I can remember. As a child I used to get down in the floor board and cover my head. My Daddy “tortured” me by taking me across old creaky bridges trying to make me get over it. As an adult I find myself gripping the steering wheel if I am driving and always holding my breath until we get across. Then I unclinch my fingers and let out a huge sigh. My sisters still make fun of me.

    • doublebhomestead February 25, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

      That’s a new one on me, I’ve never heard of that one before.

  2. Lorilee February 26, 2013 at 9:34 pm #

    I don’t think it quite qualifies as a phobia, but snakes give me the shivers. I am OK with obvious garter snakes etch. that are small. Large chicken snakes and venomous snakes are NOT OK.
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

Leave a Reply

