Stocking Your Pantry

20 Feb

I went to the grocery store today and while I was there I picked up a few extra items for the pantry.

moto_0142

I just keep adding to the pantry slowly, bit by bit. But some things I always make sure to have plenty on hand. Many years ago when Sweet Thing and I first got married, I gave her a clear set of instructions to keep the pantry stocked especially with three things. We should ALWAYS have a supply of ketchup, Pork and Beans, and toilet paper. Those are three of the basic necessities of life. I told her if I ever discovered we were running short of any of those items I would not be able to sleep until they were restocked. She one of us might have to run to the store to restock even if it was 10:00 at night. So always keep those pantries stocked. What supplies do you insist on always having on hand?

23 Responses to “Stocking Your Pantry”

  1. JD February 20, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

    Of course toliet paper, yikes wouldn’t want to be without that, plenty of pork and beans, pasta products, tomato sauce and various seasonings. Those are the items I always make sure we have plus water (live in Arizona).

  2. ourlittleacres February 20, 2013 at 10:30 pm #

    TP definitely. Usually at least 3 months worth. Dried beans and rice. Oh. And don’t forget the coffee or I’ll be hung out to dry! 🙂

    • doublebhomestead February 22, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

      I think everyone wants to have plenty of TP on hand!

      • Practical Parsimony February 22, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

        I never have tp. I use washcloths and wash them. I have about 4 dozen washcloths.

      • Practical Parsimony February 23, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

        I should add–even though I don’t stock tp and use washcloths, I would not rely on them long term. However, I just packed away 3 cubic yards of white, knit fabric. I sew, so I have lots of fabric and scraps.

        All the fabric and scraps gives me options:
        1) use fabric and throw away all of it.
        2)use fabric and wash all of it.
        3) use fabric and wash only pieces with pee. Pieces with solid waste on it can be thrown away.

        Hanging these cloths in the sun after washing would sterilize them.

        I had three in cloth diapers, so I am not squeamish. My poo is not all on the cloth. My poo stinks less than an infant’s coupious poo on cloth. I never sit in my poo, so it is not like poo on baby diapers, squashed and stinking all over.

  3. Angela February 21, 2013 at 4:32 pm #

    Garden seed, dry beans, oatmeal, pasta, rice, seasonings, water, and canned veges, meat, and fruit. My grandpa says we are going to REALLY see what it is we NEED to survive. He is 86. My other grandpa is 96. He knows what it is to be poor, so poor you eat dandelions greens and lamb’s quarters. May god bless us as we prepare for exciting times ahead. Angela

    • ourlittleacres February 21, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

      We eat dandelion greens and Lamb’s Quarter because we love them!

      • Angela February 27, 2013 at 10:52 am #

        I’ll have to give them a try to sometime this next year.

    • doublebhomestead February 23, 2013 at 10:20 pm #

      Angela, listen to your grandparents while you have the chance, they could be a wealth of valuable information. If they are that age, they probably lived through some hard times and really know how to survive.

      • Angela February 27, 2013 at 10:55 am #

        You are absolutely right, and I intent to do just that. We are losing a generation that is steeped with integrity and inginuity. I intent to carry these attributes on.

  4. Phyllis (N/W Jersey) February 22, 2013 at 10:11 am #

    Beans, rice, canned meat & veggies, t/p, asprin, baby wipes, viegar, matches, lamp oil, soap, lysol, spices, coffe, tea, flour, sugar, bleach, toothpaste, mouthwash, bandages, powdered milk and water AWYAYS on hand. Always.

    • doublebhomestead February 22, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

      Water is probably the most important thing for survival.

  5. Mike February 22, 2013 at 11:52 am #

    Are you a prepper? 🙂

    • doublebhomestead February 22, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

      I’ve always been a prepper, even way, way before that word came into use.

  6. Practical Parsimony February 22, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

    Oats, brown rice, home-canned tomatoes, dehydrated bananas, Miracle Whip, chocolate. Canned tuna, roast beef, and chicken. plenty of cans of fruits and vegetables. Vinegar! I am not a prepper. There is not that much stuff here.

  7. Practical Parsimony February 22, 2013 at 10:26 pm #

    Are you from Memphis? I saw the weather thing. I am from Memphis, but stuck in AL, wanting to go back. You don’t have to approve and post this. Email will do. Thanks. My blog has my email.

  8. divaofdelicious February 23, 2013 at 11:42 am #

    Since those pork and beans contain plenty of fiber, I think it’s wise to also stock plenty of TP 😉 Good post Double B. Interesting comments too. I stock plenty of beans myself, also I’m noticing I have lots of diced tomatoes among other things. Take care!

    • doublebhomestead February 23, 2013 at 10:22 pm #

      Diced tomatoes are good for many things other than rotel dip, they make a good addition for oven roasted chicken.

      • divaofdelicious February 23, 2013 at 11:54 pm #

        Agreed, roasted chicken begs for those tomatoes. I use them all over the place!

  9. Roger February 25, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

    My family refers to my preps as “dad’s crazy stash” but it sure comes in handy when there’s no tp in the bathroom or we’re out of cooking oil.

    • doublebhomestead March 1, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

      They probably still thnk you are a little crazy even then, don’t they?

      • Practical Parsimony March 2, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

        They will probably not see that you are right. They will just be thankful you are a little crazy.

Leave a Reply

