Turnip Greens

10 Feb

moto_0117

Back in November, we pulled some turnips from our patch at the homestead. We ate most of them, gave some away, but still had some left over. When we harvested them, we just pulled them and cut the tops off. The turnips have been in a Wal-Mart bag, just sitting out on the patio. I noticed they are growing leafy greens again. I wonder if I planted the roots in the ground, would they make enough greens to harvest and eat? Maybe if I planted them in a sunny location inside a cold-frame would that work? I wonder if they could be grown under a grow light in a hydroponic system? Hummm, just something to think about.

3 Responses to “Turnip Greens”

  1. ourlittleacres February 12, 2013 at 7:33 pm #

    I’m not POSITIVE but I think not only would they produce greens but they will set seed this summer/fall that you could plant next year.

    • doublebhomestead February 13, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

      I have so many chores on my list at the moment I don’t have time to try it, but maybe next year.

      • ourlittleacres February 13, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

        I hear ya. We just moved in September and we’re basically starting over. I would have loved to try tapping maples this year but maybe next year!

Leave a Reply

