Drainage Basin Problems

7 Feb

Some of you may remember I have 2 drainage basins installed in the ground right in front of the front porch where the water runs off of the roof in huge gushes when it rains. Well, one of the basins floated up out of the ground similar to what an empty fuel tank will do before it is settled in. The weather man is forecasting a 100% chance of rain tonight, so it probably won’t rain a drop. But just in case it does, I wanted to reset the basin into the ground so the water would drain away from the house.

moto_0112

I pulled back the landscape plastic sheet and raised up the basin so I could remove the soil that had washed back into the hole. Only now it was just a big ball of muck in the bottom of the hole.

moto_0113

I got the hole cleaned out and the basin settled back into the hole. I put some excess concrete slag into the basin for weight to help hold it down.

moto_0114

As I prepared to backfill the soil around the basin, I realized all I had was a big pile of muck. What a mess!

moto_0115

I used a 2X4 to tramp the mud around the basin, now it is sitting just below the level of the ground as it should be. Now as the rainwater drains down into the lower level of the basin, it will enter the basin and run down the underground drain pipes to the bottom of the hill and get away from the house.

moto_0116

Just to help hold it down until it settles properly, I placed a concrete block and a bucket of gravel on top of the basin. Not very attractive I must say. I have some large, round stones at our old house we used to outline a flower bed and I will go get them and place them on top of the basin and they will blend in as part of the landscaping. I’m looking forward to Spring so I can get some outdoor projects done!

Leave a Reply

