Dog House Construction

31 Jan

The weather finally gave me a little chance to get out and work on the dog house one afternoon, and it is almost finished.

moto_0048

I have the three side walls attached and the roof is on. I still need to put some nails in the very center of the roof where I couldn’t reach from my ladder. I was afraid the panels might crack if I climbed on them to nail the center section. I am going to use a 4X4 sheet of plywood laid on top to distribute my weight and then I can reach the center section. We had 40 MPH winds yesterday and I was worried the panels might come off but everything is still secure.

756541001586lg

 

I used these corrugated cellulose fiber/asphalt panels purchased from Lowe’s. The best way I can describe them is tar paper/roofing felt pressed into a fiberglass mat. The panels smell just like roofing felt and you can see the fiber mesh embedded in the panel. The instructions for cutting the panels said to use a skill saw with a carbide blade mounted backwards. Just a tip for you, you can use any blade it doesn’t have to be carbide tipped, and definitely don’t use a new blade. I did and the tar sticking to the blade almost ruined it. I sprayed it down with W-D 40 and scrubbed and scrubbed to clean it off. If I use these panels again I will cut them with an old blade. They are light weight and easy to cut and seem to be fairly sturdy. How they will hold up in the future is yet to be seen, I’ll let you know in a couple of years.

Leave a Reply

