Dog Pen Construction

10 Jan

I wanted to give you an update on my dog pen construction. I didn’t get finished and the weatherman is predicting rain for 6 of the next 7 days so I won’t get much more finished. I wish I could have finished it, but we need the rain also, so I guess it will work out in the end.

Photo511

I got the wooden posts set for the corners and drove the t-posts, but I did not get the horse fencing put up. The area I am using the horse fencing for is 40 feet by 40 feet. I have an additional 20 feet by 40 feet of chain link fencing I am using for their current fence. I will attach the chain link fence when we make the move. That will make their pen be 60 feet by 40 feet. That will give them 2400 square feet for the time being.

Photo512

I am making a 8 foot by 8 foot structure for their dog house. I sunk 4 corner posts and framed up the floor.

Photo519

I am using 3/4 inch treated plywood for the floor I expect it to last for many years.

Photo517

Then I framed around 3 sides, the fourth side will be left open for the time being.

Photo518

I used 4X8 sheets of grooved plywood ( barn siding ) for the sides. I was working by myself, so I needed to hold up the wood while I nailed them up. I put up a temporary 2X4 brace on the bottom edge to set the panels on and hold them while I nailed them up. When I was finished I removed the extra 2X4s, sometimes you have to use your head!

Photo520

This is as far as I got, I ran out of time before I even got the third side up. The fourth side that will remain open is facing our house, so the dogs can sit under the roof and look outside. After I get it finished, I am going to put their two plastic dog houses inside for them to sleep in when it is cold. I might seal up part of the structure for a sleeping area, but I will put that project on hold for the time being. More to come.

Leave a Reply

