Stocking Our Pantry

3 Jan

Some of you remember I am not allowed to go to the grocery store by myself. Well, Sweet Thing was preoccupied with her cooking for New Years and she needed something from the grocery so she sent me to the store alone. WELL, we have this big new pantry at our house and I just couldn’t resist beginning to stock up the shelves.

P1010887

I just made a quick run down the canned goods aisle and picked up these staples. I bought several types of beans and peas, beef stew, several soups, hominy, ravioli, Vienna sausage, canned ham, chunk chicken breast, deviled ham spread, olives and sardines. All in all a good start on stocking our new pantry. Sweet Thing doesn’t know about this yet, she will be really surprised when she sees this post. She will be so surprised and happy she will probably send me back to the store alone next week! By the way, this stack of canned goods cost about $35, so if I did this for 10 weeks I would have spent $350 and probably have over 350 cans to put in the pantry. If I waited on sales and planned my shopping I could do much better than that. Now, you might say I can’t afford $35 in one week. OK, how about 20, or 10 or even 5? For $5 a week you could easily average 5 extra cans of food per week. In a years time you would have put away 260 cans of food! Prepping doesn’t have to be overwhelming, but you just have to take small steps and get started.

2 Responses to “Stocking Our Pantry”

  1. DFW January 3, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

    Amen. All you have to do is chip away a bit at a time! Happy New Year to you & yours.

    • doublebhomestead January 3, 2013 at 10:51 pm #

      Thank you! I think one of the hardest problems to solve with prepping is storage, you can buy lots of items to save, but where do you put them?

Leave a Reply

