Safety First,,,Again

2 Dec

Construction is about complete on our new home. The weather here is unseasonably warm, near or at record highs. I decided to take this opportunity to clear up some more of the brush and vines in front.

P1010789

P1010787

All along the highway was overgrown with dense sapling trees and briars and honeysuckle.

P1010788

We had thinned them down quite a bit during the past year, but I left some of them until I could decide just which few I wanted to keep in the front of the house. I took out all of these trees right in the middle so now the view is this;

P1010807

You can look over towards our house from the road and get a really nice view. We can also get a nice view across the road towards our neighbor’s farm shop.

P1010808

You can see he has several barns for his equipment and livestock. That is one of the good things about where we live. This is a small community, with a local community grocery just a mile and a half down the road where a lot of people meet and mingle every day. You can drive down any road near our home and you can see this is an agricultural community. Many of the houses you pass have all sorts of livestock, cows, horses, goats, sheep and chickens. Most of them have big gardens and fruit trees. There are many people here with the self-sufficient and being prepared mindset, just the kind of people you need to be with and get to know. You can meet and greet many of them at the local gathering place, the community grocery. Lately when we go in the store, all we hear is “When are you going to move in? The house looks ready to me.” Well, it is 99% complete, the final gas inspection will be tomorrow and the final electrical inspection will be Tuesday. The painter has a few spots to touch up and the tile installer is putting the grout around the tub tomorrow and that will be everything! Then it will just be a matter of cleaning up and putting the wax on the floor and we can start moving in. Finally! Oh, back to safety first.

P1010802

This is the same fence line shown above in the second picture. We cleaned it up over to the old wire fence and gained 30 feet of new space. We are going to cut out the old metal fence and thin out some of the smaller trees to open up the view a little.

P1010804

To clear out those 2-6 inch trees, I usually cut them off about 3 feet high. Then I hook a chain around the stump and pull them up with my tractor. The chain is attached to the front end loader, the other end is wrapped around the stump, I put the tractor in reverse and usually a good jerk or two and it comes up roots and all. This doesn’t leave any stump to have to mow over or dig up. Well, I got a little impatient and tried to pull one without cutting it off. I thought “that tree is not too tall, and I’ll just pull it easy”. Well it was taller than I thought and it came right up with one good pull. Then it fell directly at the tractor,,,and the driver. WHAP! The upper part of the tree slapped me right on the side of my face. Fortunately, I was wearing my safety goggles but not my helmet. The tree knocked off my hat and my glasses and really slapped my ear and the side of my face. My ear was really stinging, at first I feared I may have cut my ear, but it turned out to just be on my cheek.

P1010798

Now I have this inch and a half gash on the side of my face with a flap of skin hanging down and blood streaming down my face. As I am walking to the house to get it taken care of Sweet Thing says “what did you do?” I said “good news, now we get to try out that first aid kit we bought last year.”

P1010792

She didn’t consider that good news. As she was cleaning out the wound and dressing it, she finally decided it wasn’t as bad as it looked, it just bled a lot. But that didn’t stop her from scolding me and schooling me on the importance of being safe during the entire time she was tending to me. The stinging I felt from the tree was nothing compared to the stinging I got from Sweet Thing scolding me. And all I could do was stand there and say “Yes dear, you’re right, yes dear, I hear you.” OUCH, be safe everybody!

Leave a Reply

