Moving Van

1 Dec

Unfortunately, we won’t be using a moving van company as we move. After all we are only moving 3 miles from our present home. We will be moving our furniture a little at a time. I have a small utility trailer, but I needed to make some modifications to it. The metal side rails are only 14 inches high, so it would not be supportive of any objects that are very tall. I built 4 foot tall sides and front out of 2X4s and plywood to make a boxlike structure to secure the furniture for the short trip. I drilled holes in the rails and used 3 inch bolts to attach the wood securely to the trailer.

P1010781

P1010782

P1010785

I installed a series of D-rings around the inside to provide a means of attaching ropes and straps used to secure the furniture. I will also add some eye bolts around the top for more tie down locations.

P1010784

I used a 2X4 across the back of the enclosure to strengthen and steady the walls. I used wing nuts to fasten the board but still have easy access.

As I was working on the enclosure, I noticed some wires hanging down underneath the trailer. I need to rewire the trailer so I can have lights before I start using it on the highway. SIGH! If it’s not one thing it’s another!

P1010786

I came in after dark this evening and I noticed this huge red glow coming from the next block. Man, this should really get you into the spirit, this house is ready! HO-HO-HO

5 Responses to “Moving Van”

  1. Cyndi Pride December 1, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

    Good luck with your move. We made a similar box for a move from SC to CO!

  2. Lorilee December 1, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    Hope your move goes smoothly! We moved 14 years ago. It took us 4 days using a cattle trailer and flatbed! Your house is beautiful.
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

    • doublebhomestead December 1, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

      Thanks, it is 99% finished, I’ll have the final pictures next week after we clean the floors and get it ready to move in.

  3. robakers December 1, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    Great trailer and good luck with the move. I think you got a picture of my house, on second thought. It isnt my house, I have more lights.

    Happy Holidays.

Leave a Reply

