Construction Update 43

22 Nov

Some of you may have noticed this short door on the side of the house and wondered about it.

P1010729

This is my wine cellar. I thought about having some basement area under the house for storage but when I discovered the additional cost and considered the potential problems associated with basements I decided to pass on it. The contractor said he could put a little area under the floor that I could use for a root cellar for not much additional cost. But as it turned out the only place he could put it was on the southwest corner of the house. That will put it in direct sunlight so I think it might get too hot in the summer. I’ll have to check it out this summer and see what the temperature will be.

P1010730

The area inside is 8 feet by 8 feet but only 5 feet high. Two sides of it will be next to the soil, but two sides of it will be exposed to the sun. If it still seems feasible this summer I might insulate the two exposed walls and the door to see if it helps enough to keep it cool inside. If it gets too hot for cool storage I’ll use it to store water hoses and lawn chairs. More tomorrow.

4 Responses to “Construction Update 43”

  1. MaddMedic November 22, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

    Bunker…

  2. carynverell November 23, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    yeah, bunker. i like that.

  3. doublebhomestead November 24, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    You both are close to right. I’ve been telling people it is an Indian hole or a bolt hole and they all knew what it meant. I would need to cut some gun slots first to be really effective.

Leave a Reply

