Attaching Wood To Concrete

27 Oct

P1010647

I am in the process of walling off an area in the back of my Barn/shop. I need to attach the stud walls to the concrete floor, and after doing some research I came up with the TapCon system.

P1010630

P1010632

P1010634

The kit contains a special chuck for holding a concrete boring bit. I was worried the bit would not drill through something as hard as concrete, but the bit ate through as easily as drilling through wood.

P1010642

You are supposed to use a hammer drill but I used my regular cordless drill I just bought and it was no problem. I guess if you had concrete with lots of rocks in it you would probably be better off with a hammer drill. I drilled the hole and followed the instructions and vacuumed out the hole to remove the excess dust and debris.

P1010644

Then I slipped the bit driver into the drill and screwed the anchors into the concrete.

P1010646

Easy as pie! Now the walls are nice and secure. I would definitely recommend this System to anyone needing to attach something to concrete or bricks. You can use it on walls as well as floors. As I was taking the pictures for this post I decided to show you this.

P1010648

It is a small plastic container for holding small items such as screws, bolts and nuts, clips, etc. The container is about the size of a large jar of baby food. The really neat thing about them is,,,,

P1010649

The caps on the bottles are magnetized and will stick to the sides of a shelf or tool box. It keeps them out-of-the-way but still handy and within reach.

4 Responses to “Attaching Wood To Concrete”

  1. dennis October 27, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    Mr building inspector told me I needed something between the concrete and wood to prevent dry rot. He let me slide sheet metal, So I didn’t have to rip the wall down. Or course the wall was ripped out by the next tenant anyway.

    • doublebhomestead October 27, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

      Yeah, long term that probably would be a good idea. I did put a spacer between the floor and the OSB before I attached it to keep the concrete moisture from seeping up. I even used the spacers to keep the 2X4 framing on the outside walls from touching the concrete. I didn’t think of it on the inner framing. DOOH!

  2. pioneer Preppy October 27, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

    Neat Items times two. Thanks!!!!

    • doublebhomestead October 28, 2012 at 10:39 am #

      I’m always on the lookout for something useful to make life easier.

Leave a Reply

